Interviews

A chat with … Letecia Price

Letecia-Price-Portrait

This week I got to chat to the gorgeous Perth-born model Letecia Price. This beauty has been living in NYC since she was just a teen and has had a exciting career travelling all over the globe from Singapore – London – Istanbul and beyond.

Full Name: Letecia Price
Age: 23
Based in: New York
Current Agency: Women360 NYC
International agencies: ModelWerk – Germany, WhyNot – Milan, FM – London, Viviens – Australia, Image – Tokyo.

How old were you when you started modelling, and how did you get into it?
I was 14. My Mum and Aunty encouraged me to give it a shot. We submitted some photos of myself to Christine at Viviens Perth and I soon went in for an interview. I signed and started that day.

What are your most and least favourite parts of the industry?
One of my favorite parts of the industry is the production behind getting us ready. I particularly love makeup, and skincare and its super cool that I get to know most of the tricks of the trade. Mimicking my appearance on a day to day basis is exciting, it is like acting and I enjoy being versatile to suit the shoot.
My least favorite part of the industry is being around people who are just like you and I, except they think the world of themselves based off of false pretenses. Of course it’s nice to be successful, popular, or considered beautiful but it saddens me when it changes people, or to see people so caught up in it.

What has been your career highlight so far?
I can’t pinpoint a particular job or client which has yet highlighted my career. I have goals of who I hope to work with, and where I hope it takes me. I’ve living in NYC independently since I was 15, maintaining regular clientele in all those years, traveling the world, and constantly being booked is something I feel very proud of.

Have you travelled overseas? If so, where to?
For work I’ve traveled through Asia a few times to Japan, Korea, Singapore, and Thailand. I live in NYC now, and have visited many states here in America. I have worked and spent time in Germany, London, Greece and Istanbul.
I’m having my manager now set me up a schedule to head to Paris and Milan in the upcoming months.

 

Letecia-Price-Beach-shootWhat are your plans for the next twelve months?
I want to do more traveling in Europe to expand my clientele. I haven’t been seen over there yet, and as a model it is super important to always put yourself out there and hopefully be at the right place at the right time.

You’re currently living and working in New York, What is that like? How long have you been there?
I first came here 9 years ago at 14 to represent Australia in the ‘Ford Supermodel of the World’ completion, I won myself a contract with Ford Models and as a young girl got so excited I soon after packed up and moved here. It has been a different experience than what I imagined. I wouldn’t change a thing, but I definitely learnt nothing usually is handed to you on a golden platter. You get what you give.

New York is a very competitive market, how do you stay successful there?
I think its a lot to do with personality. Having friendships with the people you work with, or at least being pleasant to be around. Punctuality. And staying focused and enthusiastic throughout the shoot to get that captivating image the client is paying you for.
To quote Churchill, ‘The key to success is consistent failure without losing enthusiasm.’

Do you have any tips for models who want to go to New York to model?
I think it’s especially important here to never give up and always move forward. It’s a small industry and it’s easy to get a reputation, if you can get the right one here, you will do well.

Where is your favourite place in the world to model?
Australia. It doesn’t make too much difference to me where I am in the world in the sense of modeling. However, if I can get direct bookings to my home country that’s a bonus, and an exciting trip to take.

What is your background? 
My great great great great ancestors are British. But I’m a true blue Aussie.

Who/what would be your dream client/job?
Any client who allows me to be me. A job where I can express my own personal style, personality and beauty. I feel a lot of the time in modeling, girls are made to dress up to look like something else other than themselves or to be like a blank canvas to draw attention only to the clothes. My dream is that the era of the 90’s supermodel comes back, and I can make the clothes sell by wearing them as apposed to them wearing me.

Who is your style icon and why?
It’s hard to name just one style icon. And it’s also hard to categorize myself into a particular style. Sometimes I like to wear little mini dresses and heels, sometimes I like to wear overalls and feel more cool and comfortable. Erin Wasson I think has a good balance with that. It’s individual. I love shopping vintage. Yet I mainly love to dress chic and sexy. Jane Birkin was a huge fashionista in her day and I love the simplicity of it.

Letecia-Price-Headshot

What is your go-to outfit?
Leather. Can’t go wrong with leather. Black, also can’t go wrong with black. I like form fitting clothing, and I love wearing heels!

Do you have a signature look that clients tend to book you for especially? What is it?
Not really. I’m quite versatile and find myself challenging a new look all the time.

What do you do to stay in shape?
I really like walking. If the weather is nice I’ll try walk to most of my appointments in the day. Stretching really helps my body stay long and lean. I eat everything, and love food, and am lucky enough to have a fast metabolism to burn it all off. Water is key for everything !

How long do you plan to continue modelling and whats your plan for after you finish?
I don’t have plans like that. I take everything day by day. As long as people are booking me, I’ll be modeling. I can do whatever else for the rest of my life, though modeling is short lived and I want to take every opportunity while I have it.
I’m super into kinesiology and have been reading into it/study up about it. I think I would like to have a practice/retreat somewhere someday and help people that way.

If I wasn’t a model I would be….
A kinesiologist or therapist.

What is on repeat on your iPod at the moment?
My go to play list consists of fleetwood Mac, Eric Clapton, air supply, billy Joel etc. I’m young and of course enjoy hip hop, especially from the 90’s too. But listening to the oldies reminds me of home, is easy listening and puts me in a good mood.

3 Things you never leave the house without?
Phone, debit card and mascara.

Is there someone that inspires you? What is it about them that inspires you?
Erin Brockovich. I love success stories from people who had it hard, and especially from people who everyone doubted.

Letecia-Price-shoot-03

If you could have dinner with anybody, alive or dead, who would it be and why?
I would be super star struck to see Marilyn Monroe. I wouldn’t say she’s a roll model of mine, but she’s a household name and seemed like a fun person to hang out with.

Do you have a partner? If so, how do you cope with travelling away?
I actually just got engaged. I haven’t yet traveled for longer than a week since being with him. We’ve spoken about me going to Europe soon on stay and decided he’s coming with me ! FaceTime makes life easier.

Whats the best advice you ever received and from who was it from?
That “mums are always right”, which my mum told me from the get go.

What advice would you give to a model just starting out?
Look after yourself. Stay grounded and build a thick skin to not take any negative feedback personally, but to use it to your best advantage. Don’t give up!

Letecia-Price-shoot-02

You can follow Letecia on her instagram here:  @leteciaprice

Letecia-Price-Beauty

 

One thought on “A chat with … Letecia Price

  1. Pingback: Straight from the horses mouth | Millicent Lambert

Leave a Reply

