Interviews

A chat with … Tamzin Mulder

This week I got to chat with Tamzin Mulder – one of Perth’s best makeup & hair artists. Since entering the industry at only 19 years old, she has been successful in her trade and has worked for some celebs such as: Megan Gale and Heath Ledger. With her signature look  focusing on a sexy, un-done feel, she is in high demand. Tamzin shared some of her tips and experiences with us below.

Tamzin-Mulder-Makeup-Artist.JPG

Full Name: Tamzin Mulder
Profession: Hair Stylist & Makeup Artist
Based in: WA
Hometown: Perth
Creative agency: vivienscreative
List of some labels/magazines/celebs etc.. you have worked with:
Harpers Bazzar Indonesia, Vulcan Mag, Channel 7, Rachel Finch, Megan Gale, Courtney Love, Heath ledger, Morrison, Empire Rose, Linneys.

Tamzin-Mulder-Ruth-Willmer

Ruth Willmer.

How old were you when you started doing makeup & hair, and how did you get into it?
I was 19 when I began my hairdressing apprenticeship and 23 when I did my make up diploma. I got into it because I read an article in Dolly magazine about a hair and make up artist and what her day entailed. I thought , that’s the perfect job for me.

Are you a hair stylist who expanded to makeup OR a makeup artist who expanded to hair?
I am a hairdresser by trade first. This was pre planned however. I wanted to be a hair and make up artist , I knew hairdressing was a 4 year apprenticeship back then. So I studied make up while in my final year of hairdressing training.

Tamzin-Mulder-Alison-Jade-832x555

Alison Jade Cosmetics Campaign

What has been your career highlight so far?
I have had many highlights I must say. I loved working on stage and travelling overseas for Toni&Guy when I was a hair educator. Recently I just shot for Harper’s Bazzar Indonesia . That was an awesome shoot.

What are your most and least favourite parts of the industry?
My most favourite parts of the industry would be the people and locations. I love the travel , any excuse to get on a plane makes me happy. The diversity of who you meet. I particularly enjoy working on a job for more than a day or two and how you quickly build a comradeship between the crew.
Least favourite part is dragging my gear around and cleaning the brushes ! Small thing to complain about I must say.

Tamzin-Mudler-Tammy-Stone

Read my interview with Tammy Stone here.

What is it do you think that sets you apart from other makeup artists/hair stylists in this industry?
I am not sure if I am set apart from my colleagues. We have a lot of amazing talent here in WA. I do think I have a particular style however. I love to see skin through the foundation. I like to see on the screen after the shot has been taken the pores and luminosity of the skin. Fresh , dewy and not over made up. I feel sometimes as a make up artist the art is in holding back .

Who/what would be your dream client/job?
Well that’s an easy one … Definitely Kylie Minogue. One day I am quite sure I’ll get to make her up. It’s going to be a hoot.

tamzin-mulder-scoop-autumn--852x555

Scoop Magazine: Myself and New York based, perth-girl Letecia Price. Read my interview with her here.

Do you have a signature look that clients tend to book you for especially? What is it?
I think similar to how I was explaining about my passion for skin. Not over made up , not “make up artistry make up “. Also with hair, a little undone, bit sexy bed hair, not too perfect.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to get into hair/makeup in the fashion industry?
Go for it , learn some good hair skills , good basics. Don’t get caught up in buying the “cool” products. You can over capitalise your kit.

Tamzin-Mulder-I9

Indiah Lavers.

What traits do you think makes some models more successful than others?
Personality, the ones that are humble, sweet and helpful will go far.

As a very experienced hair & makeup artist in this industry, do you have any special tips that you would give to new faces to help them look their best off-camera?
Yes , have a healthy life style as best as you can. Eat a balanced diet, exercise and drink plenty of water. Dehydration is a killer . Whenever you can , don’t wear make up. Let that skin breathe.

 

Check out Tamzin’s  Instagram : @tamzinmakeup

View Tamzin’s Portfolio here.

Tamzin-Mulder-Olivia-Donaldson

Read my interview with model Olivia Donaldson here.

Leave a Reply

